A Beginner’ s Crochet Book

Standard

Hello, I hope everyone is doing well. It’s another bright sunny day here at the waterfront at 21 degrees. Compared to the other day where I posted pictures of rough seas, today everything is so calm. But since the temperature fluctuates quickly it’s bound to make people under.I know because I am at the moment.

My husband told me that their office is once again roaming with bugs waiting to latch on on unsuspecting stressed-out workers. I think that is apparent when a place has poor ventilation, so I opened my windows to make sure I get some fresh air in.

I have just finished my cleaning and wow, it’s 12 noon… How time flies…Anyway, I’m happy that i won’t be cooking lunch as my husband is going to take me out.

But before I leave I want to show you what I got from Minerva recently.

Minerva is a shop down in Cuba Street that sells specialty books on everything textile and crafts. They have tons of books ranging from fashion design, sewing, knitting, lots of quilting, doll and felt-doll making, house decor DIYS, cross stitching, photograhy, and various magazines as well on the same subjects. One thing is, if you are crocheter and you want to look for books on crochet, you will find a low cabinet there and just one shelf dedicated to that subject… that is how small the crocheter population here is I guess. Or it could be other reasons, like finding books online. But it’s just amazing that in most book shops that I go to here, there is not much on crochet.

However if you are here in Wellington and you do both knitting and crochet or you just simply love sewing crafts. I recommend you go and see Minerva. They have good stock of books. I think they can also order books for you but only if you live in the area.

One of the books I got is Marion Madel’s The New Crochet. It’s a very nice book for beginners, and I recommend it, even if you aren’t. The things I like about this book are:

1. It has simplistic design and clear photography so it’s quite Zen.

P1120006

2. The photo-tutorials are easy to understand and follow.

P1120008

3. Each chapter will teach you different stitches and you get to finish a chapter with a project using that chapter’s stitch.

P1120007

4. It has 38 modern projects to grow from.

P1120009
5. And it’s French-Japanese style…modern-zen-chic.

No worries, if you are not into simplistic design, because you can still follow along and use vibrant colors that you like.

The book will teach you everything from choosing size hooks equal to the yarn to use, to different kinds of yarn and how to wash them, and reading abbreviations and symbols.

So for me this is a helpful and complete book, and I can make quite a number of fashionable items that are within the times.

But I haven’t gotten around it yet as I have been quite addicted to granny squares, and I have some projects needing to be finished, but I will make some time for it- hopefully sooner.

So until next time, for now I will finish my current projects by getting yarn and hooking it.

Have a nice day!

10006360_354718484703639_2682802818827935550_n

At the park for lunch. It’s quite sunny today.

3 thoughts on “A Beginner’ s Crochet Book

Leave a comment